PB&J: Or, What’s Your Staple Food?

I will never forget my first day home alone with my son after coming back from the hospital.  It was literally the day after we got home, and my husband had to go teach recitations for the course he was TAing all day.  I was ravenous, desperate to eat something, anything, but also massively exhausted.  Finally when it got to the point where I just couldn’t imagine nursing Jesse again before eating something myself (I don’t recommend letting it get to this point, by the way!) I put him in the Moby and made myself

Jesse eating peanut butter straight from a spoon

Jesse eating peanut butter straight from a spoon

a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  Protein, sugar, and carbs — what more could I want? (ok, veggies.  good point).   Thus, a new love was born.  I feel very lucky that nobody in my household is allergic to peanuts, allowing me this simple, filling, relatively healthy lunch option when I’ve got less than no time. I don’t know if it’s all that peanut making its way to his taste buds through my milk, but Jesse’s favorite food is now anything peanut, as well.

What’s your go-to easy to prepare food when you’re on your own?

Leave a Reply

